Winners don't wait for chances

Royal coat of arms of Scotland

The royal coat of arms of Scotland (commonly referred to as the Royal Arms of Scotland) was the official coat of arms of the monarchs of Scotland, and was used as the official coat of arms of the Kingdom of Scotland until the Acts of Union of 1707. The blazon of the arms of the Kingdom of Scotland changed markedly following the Union of the Crowns in 1603, and ultimately went on to become the Royal Coat of Arms of the United Kingdom as used in Scotland. Features The pre-Union of the Crowns version of the arms feature a shield depicting the red lion of the King of Scots as rampant, with blue tongue and claws, on a yellow field and surrounded by a red double royal tressure flory counter-flory device. (Specified in heraldry as "Or, a lion rampant Gules armed and langued Azure within a double tressure flory counter-flory of the second"). Atop the shield sits the helm and crest. The helm is full-faced of demasked gold with six bars and features gold mantling lined with ermine. Upon the helm sits the crest, depicting the red lion, forward facing and sitting atop the Crown of Scotland, displaying the Honours of Scotland. (The lion wears the Crown of Scotland and holds both the Sceptre and the Sword of State). Above the crest is the motto 'In Defens', which is a contraction of the motto In My Defens God Me Defend. (The spelling of 'Defens' being the Scots sp

lling of 'Defence'). The motto of the arms appears above the crest in the convention of Scottish heraldry. Surrounding the shield is the collar of The Most Ancient and Most Noble Order of the Thistle. The supporters are two crowned and chained unicorns, the dexter supporting a banner of the arms, (only in this instance is the lion depicted facing away from the lance, whereas when flown correctly the lion should face towards or respect the lance or, in most cases, the flag pole); the sinister supporting the national flag of Scotland. The compartment features a number of thistles, the national flower of Scotland. The Union of the Crowns (March 1603) was the accession of James VI, King of Scots, to the thrones of England and Ireland, and the consequential unification of Scotland with both realms under a single monarch. The Union of Crowns followed the death of James' unmarried and childless first cousin twice removed, Queen Elizabeth I of England—the last monarch of the Tudor dynasty. [1] The Union was a personal or dynastic union, with the Crown of Scotland remaining both distinct and separate—despite James's best efforts to create a new "imperial" throne of "Great Britain". However, England and Scotland would only continue to be sovereign states, sharing a monarch, until the Acts of Union in 1707 during the reign of the last Stuart monarch, Queen Anne.